Roma, Addio

It is my last pday in the mission and I get to spend it in Roma. The last 2 years have been pretty incredible and it’s weird to think that in a couple days I won’t be able to walk out the door and be submerged in the Italian culture anymore. It doesn’t really feel real yet.

These last few days we have been on a special extension to see the dedication and yesterday there took place the first 3 of 7 sessions of the dedication. Tomorrow will be my last day as a missionary in Italy but I, along with the rest of my group, will get to spend it at a session of the dedication in the temple. It really is a special event for the Italians. The excitement expressed by all the members here is really cool. It reminds me a little bit of how exciting it was when the Kansas City temple was dedicated

It has been really fun spending time in Rome again and these last few days I have been enjoying putting one last week of hard work in. It is sad that it all has to come to an end, but I am doing my best to let it end with a bang!

For pday we went on a walk around Rome Centro and just hung out with some of the other missionaries. It was pretty fun. We looked at photos and stuff while eating kuch and reminisced about the mission. It was cool, but also kind of sad at the same time. It’s been real!

Serving a mission has been such an incredible and insightful experience for me. It has taught me so much about who I am and who I want to be. It has also taught me the importance of the Gospel in my life which has given more meaning and value to life.

As my last words to all of you, I want to testify of the truth of the things I have taught out here. There really is a loving caring Father in heaven and he really did send His son Jesus Christ to atone for each of us, and this because of his great love for each and everyone of us His children. If you ever find yourself caught in trial or affliction you can, by the power of the Christ’s great atoning sacrifice, you can find strength. The burdens put on by life whether from regret or from hardship can be eased because Jesus Christ suffered for those things. An unpayable debt that all of us owed was taken and payed by Him, and all men that come unto him in repentance are forgiven and can find peace in this life and in the life to come, and when we understand that we know how important it is to help others partake of it too. So, do missionary work! Invite your friends and family and all others to take part in the happiness you have found! This, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is His kingdom here on earth in this day and it has been restored through the prophet Joseph Smith. I write this not to convince anyone, but to invite them and encourage you. You can know that this is true by reading the Book of Mormon, the proof of the restoration, and praying and asking God to reveal the truth of it unto you.

Of this I testify in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

Leave a comment